Nearly 20 District 196 Students Head to State Debate Tournament

The students qualified for the state debate by finishing at the top of multiple debates in a recent section tournament.

The Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan School District is sending 19 students to the state debate tournament at the University of Minnesota Jan. 17-18, the district announced. 

The students qualified for the tournament by finishing at the top of multiple debate categories in the section 3 tournament held Jan. 10-11.

The following students will compete in the state tournament:

Lincoln-Douglas Debate
  • Nurry Goren, Eagan, first 
  • Maddy Ober, Apple Valley, second
  • Ryan Lowder, Eagan, third
  • Grace Hoffa, Apple Valley, fourth
  • Alekhya Tallapaka, Rosemount, fifth

This year's resolution: “Resolved: Developing countries should prioritize environmental protection over resource extraction when the two are in conflict.”

Policy Debate
  • Kathryn Bulanek and Charlie Seidel, Eagan, second
  • Collin Amundson and Matthew Erickson, Eagan, fourth

This year’s policy resolution: “Resolved: The United States federal government should substantially increase its economic engagement toward Cuba, Mexico or Venezuela.”

Public Forum Debate
  • Ryan Mather and Mikhil Venkatasubramanian, Eastview, first
  • Anum Ahmed and Anant Naik, Easview, second
  • Mollie Clark and Alexandra Rosati, Eagan, third
  • Aekta Mouli and Leah Dunlevy, Eagan, fourth
  • Andrea Aguilar and Chaz Elliot, Apple Valley, sixth

This year’s public forum resolution: “Resolved: Development assistance should be prioritized over military aid in the Sahel region of Africa.”


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »