Nominate a District 196 Teacher, Staffer, for Randall Award

The Andrew Christopher Randall Memorial Travel Award is given to a teacher or staff member who fosters mutual respect between individual students and staff.


Like us on Facebook | Get our newsletter | Follow us on Twitter | Start a blog

Editor's Note: The following is a news release from Rosemount, Apple Valley Eagan School District 196.

District 196 is accepting nominations through Feb. 25 for an annual award that recognizes district employees for their ability to foster mutual respect between individual students and staff.

The Andrew Christopher Randall Memorial Travel Award was established in 1991 by Dr. Ruth Randall Benson, former District 196 superintendent (1981-83) and Minnesota Commissioner of Education. She established the award in memory of her grandson Andrew, who died in September 1990, at age 14, following a six and one-half year battle with cancer.

The award is given to honor the employees at the schools Andrew attended (Valley Middle and Southview Elementary) for the sensitivity, humor, kindness, love and mutual respect that marked their relationship with Andrew. The $2,000 cash award is designated for travel because travel brought great pleasure to Andrew. The award is also supported financially by Andrew’s parents Robert and Laurie.

Any employee, student, parent or resident may nominate a District 196 employee for the award. Employees must have worked in the district for at least five years to be eligible. Nomination forms are available at www.District196.org or by calling 651-423-7784.

Completed nominations must be returned by Feb. 25 to: Elementary Curriculum, Independent School District 196, 3455 153rd St. W., Rosemount, MN., 55068.

Past recipients of the Randall Award are (in reverse chronological order):

  • Tim Kurtz, Dakota Hills Middle School
  • Scott Fiegel, Falcon Ridge Middle School 
  • Cathy Wright, Apple Valley High School 
  • Sue Lovaas-Gerten, Red Pine Elementary School
  • Tom Turk, Diamond Path Elementary School of International Studies
  • Laura Buehrer, Dakota Hills Middle School
  • Debbie Adams, Parkview Elementary School
  • Gene Wenthold, Scott Highlands Middle School
  • Sally Cole, District Office
  • Bruce Sandberg, Apple Valley High School
  • Ron McCarthy, School of Environmental Studies
  • David Nord, Eastview High School
  • Dr. Thomas Scott, Rosemount High School
  • Kathy Smola, Oak Ridge Elementary School
  • Larry Larson, Rosemount Middle School
  • Bill Henry, Rosemount High School
  • Evan Brewer, Apple Valley High School
  • Ethan Bleifus, Apple Valley High School
  • Judy Sagen, Eagan High School
  • Chuck Brooks, Rosemount High School
  • Carole Saathoff, Scott Highlands Middle School
  • Chuck Ogee, Valley Middle School


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »